First New Shows Fall 2010

September 23, 2010 at 2:47 pm (babbling, Entertainment, TV) (, , , , , , , , , )

In no particular order, here’s what I’ve viewed so far…

Chuck: Such great start to the new season!! It’s too bad NBC didn’t move it to Wednesday nights when NOTHING else is on instead of keeping it against big shows like House & Dancing with the Stars.  I’m still watching it live, but I’m afraid NBC is going to cancel it before giving it a better slot/chance.

The Event: It was a very interesting premiere and I see potential in it. I think it’s going to take a couple weeks to get me totally excited about this show.  Solid acting, and straight forward story but I didn’t really like the time-line jumps.  They didn’t add anything for me.  I’m still scared that this one will follow in Flash Forward’s footsteps and get canceled right as it’s getting REALLY good.

Hawaii 5-0:  I was quite surprised, but i really liked it.  Good cast, good action, beautiful b-roll. Alex O’Loughlin and Scott Caan played off of each other great! Grace Park was sadly the weakest link, but I’m sure she will step it up a notch in coming episodes.

Parenthood:  It started a week early before most of the major shows had started.  A little too much yelling/arguing for me, but I’m curious to see where they take it this season. I will give it a few more episodes to pick up.  The best moments/acting came from the stay-at-home dad character played by Sam Jaeger. It was also a nice surprise to see another Dirty, Sexy, Money actor join the ranks: Billy Baldwin.

Running Wilde:  I wanted to like this show, I really did. I got about 15 minutes into it and had to delete it.  It just grated on my nerves.  It was just too slow, not funny enough, and too cheesy. The flashbacks and voice over were annoying.

How I Met Your Mother:  It’s a totally solid show and it’s still holding it’s own with so many other comedy choices out there right now.  Neil Patrick Harris cracks me up.  The whole cast has excellent chemistry that keeps me tuning in week after week to see what hi-jinx will happen next. I don’t even care who Ted ends up marrying.

Glee:  I watch this show for water-cooler buzz now. I really dislike all the auto-tuned, overly produced singing. I really liked the time they all sang in the music room raw. That being said, they picked some really fun songs this week and I didn’t hate them. There are also a few story elements that really bug me…especially that there’s not a female character to root for. They are all villains. This season started off making Rachel an even BIGGER villain. I don’t mind flaws, but this show just can’t give me a female character to root for.  There have been moments that I’ve loved though:  every moment with Kurt & his dad Burt, and Artie’s dance for example.  So, I had fun watching the premiere. It didn’t make me excessively angry (as episodes have in the past). I have hope for the series.

Terriers:  This is an FX series that I caught this on hulu. It’s about two private investigators. For some reason I thought it would be more funny, or at least more sarcastic, however it was edited fairly slow and it wasn’t very funny. I won’t be watching this one again.

Castle: Solid as always. Nathan Fillion is hilarious and for some reason I feel like this character is close to his actual personality in real life. (although I have no idea if I’m right or not)   Stana Katic is a strong lead.  Her character is both ballsy and tough with enough humanity to make her feel relatable.

Still in my DVR awaiting viewing:  Hell’s Kitchen, Raising Hope, Modern Family and tonight Grey’s Anatomy, Big Bang Theory, Bones and Fringe. I decided to skip Chase.

I hear people are LOVING Boardwalk Empire, but I don’t have HBO. I will have to wait for the dvds.

Is there anything you saw, that I missed and should catch up on?

Any thoughts on the new Nikita? Lonestar? Outsourced? Or this sesason of Hell’s Kitchen?? Survivor? House?

Leave a comment