Writer’s Guild Strike Day 3

November 7, 2007 at 10:18 am (babbling, Entertainment, TV) (, , , , )

A lot of people are asking me if the strike will effect me, so I figured i could answer everyone by posting about it here.

Right now the strike won’t effect me at all.  For the first time in my career I can happily say I work in reality tv.  Some days I like it, and some days I hate it.  I like it right now because reality tv is non-union thus not influenced by the strike except in a positive way.  All those shows you love that are going to be tabled because of the strike will be replaced with cheaper reality tv shows.  That means there will be more work for me which is never a bad thing.

In the long term, the bad side is that I will be competing with union editor’s for the reality work.  It will be up to the Executive Producers and Post Supervisors to decide if a scripted editor can handle reality work.  For a show like I’m doing now (Overhaulin’), I don’t think a scripted editor could handle.  I’m not only having to edit, but also I’m writing all the voice overs and producing some of the interviews which are all things scripted editors never have to do.  I’m also taking all the raw footage and assembling the show with no direction other than the product placement requirement sheets which scripted editors never have to do.

If this strike goes on long, people will loose houses and it won’t be the networks or the executives that suffer.

From Today’s Cynopsis “Because of the Hollywood writers’ strike, production has ceased on at least six sitcoms that are filmed before live audiences, although some of the shows may have already wrapped production. The shows affected include CBS’ The New Adventures of Old Christine, Rules of Engagement, Two and a Half Men and The Big Bang Theory; and FOX’s freshman Back to You and ’til Death.”

Tonight’s Finales:
SCI FI Channel: Ghost Hunters at 9 pm
Bravo: Better Half at 10 pm
Comedy Central: The Sarah Silverman Program at 1030 pm

1 Comment

  1. Larissa said,

    This strike is crazy. It’s also crazy that shows like Shot at Love with Tila Tequila might gain a following because of all this. Have you seen that?! It’s hilariously horrible.

Leave a Reply

