Editing 101

August 9, 2007 at 10:52 am (TV) (, )

For those of you who don’t know, I’m a TV editor. I primarily cut reality tv and have been being paid to do it for 7 and 1/2 years now. Editor’s take all the raw footage, assemble the show, add graphics, add music and sound effects…. legalize it for TV etc. I can give you more detail later. I love it because it’s with computers, music, story telling. It’s multi-layered and great for one with a short attention span because the projects are always changing. Always learning, always meeting new people and working in new places.

Last night I went over to watch a friend’s home video. It was surprisingly great. Great emotional arc, good cutaways, titles in the right places… one of the friends has a photographic memory. So he scrolled thru the instructions and keyboard shortcuts. I was a little taken back. Typically home videos suck. They have no emotion, they are so shaky and have such bad sound you can’t really tell what’s going on. Where this was great. So I’ve decided if this friend ever needs a new career he should consider editing. It’s not often that people can make the entry level editing programs do even CLOSE to that, let alone in 2 days. Typically I can’t really help people get work, but this person has SOOO much talent I don’t think it would be hard for them to break in.

Plus at the rate the film and TV industry is growing, taking on internet and cell phone media the jobs are growing exponentially. Some places are getting desperate for entry level employees.

General note: I can’t help you get cast, I’m not much help reading your script and there’s no chance I can get you near a director. I can get you a unpaid PA gig on a film, I can get you an entry level post job – but I will only do so if I see talent. Helping people in these areas is putting my name and reputation on the line. But if you ever need pointers on your videos please feel free to ask. Although beware, the first thing I’m going to tell you is BUY A TRIPOD!!

Leave a Reply

