Forgetting the Forgotten

October 29, 2009 at 4:13 pm (babbling, Entertainment, TV) (, , , , , , , )

I finally managed to watch a couple episodes of The Forgotten and overall didn’t mind the show.  It wasn’t fantastic, but not horribly annoying.  Christian Slater seems to have the touch of death when it comes to new shows though, so I probably won’t waste any more time with it.  It isn’t fairing well with it’s ratings either:  a low 2.0 adults 18-49 rating.

I like that the show is based on a group of volunteers.  It’s also nice to see Bob Stephenson has got another show since Jericho.  He’s really a solid actor.

Overall the show is the same old, same old we see on EVERY other crime drama or missing person show.  Reconstruct the face, even if it’s impossible from the remains, trace their steps – and every time solve the mystery!?! Not exactly realistic.  NETWORKS & WRITERS:  We don’t need to feel good every week, at the end of EVERY episode if we care about the main cast already.

Another issue I had was it’s use voice over as narration.  Desperate Housewives, Pushing Daisies and the new show The Forgotten all do it now.  I think this was the only part of the show that stood out as horrible and un-needed.  Shouldn’t we just got a picture of who the person is from the group? I feel like voice over insults my intelligence as a viewer.  I don’t need hand holding. I can pick up subtle, and maybe someday I will tell you how I ruined the movie “Sixth Sense” for my group of friends from the TEASER TRAILER.   I want you to let me figure things out for myself.  I think I would like this show more if they canned the VO.

My vote:  forget about it.  I don’t think this one has legs to last.

I also watched the first couple seasons of Weeds. I didn’t like it.  If you want to watch a better drug culture tv show watch Breaking Bad.  It has way better acting, writing, and overall directing. Warning, breaking bad IS depressing, but it is quality scripted tv!!

Some quick tv notes/updates:

Trauma has been canceled by NBC.  It was just WAY too expensive for the low ratings it was getting.

Rumor is more episodes of Chuck have been ordered. YAY!! And might even air sooner than expected!!! WOOT!!!

I still love SYTYCD.  It’s a very talented bunch this season. It is my guilty pleasure.

I have also been watching Amazing Race this season, but I don’t love the cast so I’m not loving the season.

Dollhouse last week was actually great, but that’s because the main character Echo (played by Eliza Dushku) wasn’t in it much.  The supporting cast is just WAY stronger than Eliza.  She has 3 personalities to handle and way too often they all get muddled. Joss Whedon is the kind of show creator/writer/director that might just kill her off, but because she is also a Producer, I don’t think he has the balls to do it.

Top 2 shows right now would be:  Fringe & Castle.  Both leave me happy every week. What have you been watching?

2 Comments

  1. Trisho said,

    We’ve been watching The Middle. Cute. Chris said it’s like Malcom in the Middle except not as shrill. :)

    And House, Top Chef, Iron Chef America. And Dexter on DVD. :)

  2. Trisho said,

    Er…The Next Iron Chef. And also The Office. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

